Question

Student Licensing, Lab/non-production question

Hi, I am a CompSci student and I am interested in acquiring a Cumulus Linux license for learning.

Note: I am aware of Cumulus VX, I am currently learning on it with it in GNS3, the intent of this message is to get physical-switch experience.

About a year ago I sent an email to sales@ as well as licensing@ asking about student/demo licensing but no on responded.  

Shortly after I came across this posting: https://www.reddit.com/r/networking/comments/410ml5/idea_16port_cumulus_linux_switch/

From that I concluded: “Wow! a co-founder would reply to someone who is just looking to learn. I’ll just have to keep that in mind for when I eventually get my own switch.” So, it looked like Cumulus was open to supporting learners.

I kept that in the back of my mind while I was trying to acquire a compatible switch that I could afford. (That was about a year ago)

This whole time I have been working by butt off to level up my skills so I can finally tackle the beast that is Linux networking.

I have since then received a CCNA, RHCSA, and PPT206 certs in preparation for this (among other things).

Earlier this week IT HAPPENED! I came across a working but cosmetically damaged unit for super cheap. It’s an edgecore “AS4610-54P”

Unfortunately the post mentioned above was from Nolan Leake which doesn’t appear to be with Cumulus Networks anymore.

Earlier this week I sent another email to sale@ and also used the “contact us” page on the homepage, no answer :(

My question is this:

1. I would like to know if Cumulus Networks offers student licensing, or demo licensing for an edgecore “AS4610-54P”?
  2. Is there a subscription trial/demo option for NetQ?  I would love to test my switch along side my VX machines with NetQ. (I’m a big fan of Nagios/Naemon based monitoring and I am just itching to find out if I can leverage it with NetQ)

-Seau

(Edit:1 Fixed some formatting)

4 replies

Userlevel 2

Hi Seau,